Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing and policy-making body (legally also the Board of Directors) of the company and consists of a President, President-Elect or Immediate Past President, Vice President, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer, and the Chairs of the 5 Standing Committees and Forums. An Independent Assessor, responsible for assessing the effectiveness with which the Board discharges its duties, attends Board meetings but is not a Trustee.

Education Group

The Education and Careers Forum oversees the Institute's activities and policies relating to education, careers and skills at all levels.

Chair: Alastair MacGregor

Vice-Chair: Simon Allison

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee advises the Board on financial matters. It is chaired by the Honorary Treasurer.

Chair: Ian Blakemore

Committee Members: Michael King, Richard Burt, Andrew Wilbey, Sam Jennings, Ruth Birt, Vanessa Fursden

Professional Development Group

The Professional Development Forum oversees all of the Institute's initiatives, assessment and accreditation relating to professional standards and levels of membership, continuing professional development activities, member assessment, and examinations.

Chair: Helen Taylor

Vice-Chair: Anita Kinsey


The Publications Committee oversees the Institute's publications including the International Journal of Food Science and Technology and Food Science and Technology.

Chair: Craig Leadley

Vice-Chair: Emma Weston

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee is the Institute's key source of information concerning scientific, technical and legislative affairs. They produce material on scientific and technical issues on behalf of IFST, advise the Board on emerging scientific and technical issues, and ensure that IFST are producing reliable, authoritative information on food science topics.

Chair: Chris Gilbert-Wood 

Committee Members: Julie Ashmore, Ivan Bartolo, Julian Cooper, Mike Gilligan, Hazel Gowland, Kathy Groves, Sarah Howarth, Andrew Hudson, Louise Manning, Christine Morrison, Robert Murdock, Stuart Musgrove, John Points, Henrietta Sameke, Matthew Sharman, Michael Walker, Peter Wareing, Alisdair Wotherspoon

Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee oversees the election and appointment of Board Trustees. It is chaired by the Hon Secretary and comprises the immediate Past President (whether serving on the Board or not), the Chief Executive and two ‘ordinary’ professional members.

Chair: Wayne Martindale (Hon Secretary)

Committee Members:  David Gregory, Jon Poole, Julie Ryan, Derek Croucher

External Affairs Advisory Group

The External Affairs Advisory Group is the Institute's primary group providing guidance to the board and executive concerning its external engagement and policy setting. It identifies and prioritises areas where IFST can positively engage externally and helps to formulate key policy messages and positions IFST wishes to make. The Group also advises the Board on appropriate measures of effectiveness and impact of the Institute in relation to its stakeholder relationships.

Chair: John O’Brien

Committee Members:  Susan Arkley, Michael Bell, Andrea Cattaruzza, Craig Duckham, Helen Ferrier, Chris Gilbert-Wood, Helen Munday, Michael Walker, Alisdair Wotherspoon.