

# INSTITUTE OF FOOD SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

("the Company" registered number 930776 registered charity number 1121681)

Minutes of the 56<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting of the Company held at 14:00 on Tuesday 31<sup>st</sup> March 2020. The meeting was held electronically instead of the venue in the original Notice due to Government restrictions.

#### Present

David Gregory (President (DG) Helen Munday (President Elect)
Ian Blakemore (Honorary Treasurer (IB) Tom Hollands (Honorary Secretary) Julian Cooper (Trustee) Margaret Patterson (Trustee) Alex Kent (Independent Assessor) John O'Brien Chris Gilbert-Wood Sue Bailey Antonis Ampatzoglou Liat Adler Colin Dennis Ann Flinn Mark Woolfe Titilayo Nosiru Richard Ratcliffe

AndreaCattaruzza Stephen Micallef Kerry Adamowicz David Halliwell Sue Dix Stephen Tomlinson Krzysztof Zacharski Richard Benson Richard Marshall Ivan Bartolo Sam Jennings Anita Kinsey John Denton Andy Kerridge Rachel Ward **Edward Willhoft** 

### In Attendance

Jon Poole – Chief Executive and Company Secretary Andrew Gardner Daiane Cazuza Mariam Zaki Robin Leaper

### 56.0 Welcome

The Chair (David Gregory (DG)) welcomed all **attending electronically** and declared the meeting quorate. DG reminded those remaining that only Members and Fellows were able to vote. DG **explained that, due to Government restrictions as a result of the Coronavirus pandemic we had to take the necessary steps to convene the meeting electronically and that members had been advised of the new arrangements <b>by email on 12 March. That said, DG** sought and obtained consent of those present to take as read the Notice convening the AGM. DG Explained to attendees the method for voting using the online poll.

### 56.1 Apologies for absence

Maureen Edmondson Alan Turner Chris Edwards David Koenig-Green Peel Holroyd Richard Benson Edmund Miles-Langley Jetta Kon Lakovic Sterling Crew Michael Bell Ray Winger

# 56.2 Minutes of the 55<sup>th</sup> meeting, 12 March 2019 (available on the IFST website or on request) and matters arising therefrom.

The minutes of the 54<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting were taken as read having been publicised in the notice of the meeting as available on the IFST website. Approval was sought by the Chair via the online poll.

Proposer – Helen Mundy Seconded – Charles Murray Vote – Approved by majority (due to one abstention)

There were no matters arising.

# 56.3 Resolution 1: To receive the Financial Statements of the Company for the period ended 30 September 2019 and the report of the Auditors thereon and to consider the report of the Trustees (available on the IFST website or on request)

These had been publicised in notice of the meeting and available on the IFST website, having been already approved by the Board of Trustees/Directors.

The Honorary Treasurer presented an overview of the accounts, indicating that the Institute had had a good year financially with reserves within recommended levels.

DG thanked the Honorary Treasurer and finance committee for their work and invited the AGM to vote to accept the report.

Proposer – Ian Blakemore Seconded – Tom Hollands Vote – Approved by a majority (due to one abstention) by the online poll

Chair declared Resolution (1) had been passed

# 56.4 Resolution 2: To receive the report of the Independent Assessor 2018-19 (available on the IFST website or on request)

The report had been made available in the notice of the meeting on the IFST website. The Independent Assessor – Alex Kent was thanked by the Chair for his report. DG explained that due to the limitations of the electronic meeting, any questions and comments could be submitted by email after the meeting.

Proposer – Charles MurraySeconded – Helen MundyVote – Approved by a majority (due to one abstention)

Chair declared Resolution (2) has been passed.

#### 56.5 Resolution 3: To note the election of new Officers:

- Tom Hollands as Honorary Secretary for a further term of one year
- Michael Bell as Vice President for a further term of one yea

JP explained to the AGM that TH's re-election was unopposed and he therefore stands for a further term of one year. MB's re-election is also for a further year so he can continue to progress our journey towards Chartership.

DG asked the meeting to note the appointments.

## 56.6 Resolution 4: To note the appointment of Committee Chairs and Board Trustees:

- Chris Gilbert-Wood as Chair of Scientific Committee (3-year term)
- John O'Brien as Chair External Affairs (3-year term)

JP introduced this by explaining that Chris Gilbert-Wood had been appointed by the Scientific Committee as Chair and the Board have approved this appointment. Similarly, External Affairs Advisory Group was a newly formed Governance Committee and this committee had appointed John O'Brien as Chair and the Board had approved this appointment

DG asked the meeting to note the appointments

### 56.7 Resolution 5 - To note the appointment of other Chairs and Board Trustees:

- Craig Leadley as Chair Publications and Board of Trustees (2-year term)
- Helen Taylor as Chair Professional Development and Board of Trustees (2-year term

JP explained that Craig Leadley and Helen Taylor were both last year elected Vice-Chairs and are now automatically appointed to Chair/Trustee roles

DG asked the meeting to note the appointments

56.8 Resolution 6: To note the election of the following Vice Chairs, who shall then normally be appointed Chair and Board Trustee (from AGM 2022 for a further term of 2 years):

- Anita Kinsey as Vice Chair Professional Development (2-year term)
- Emma Weston as Vice Chair Publications (2-year term)

DG asked the meeting to note the appointments and congratulated Anita and Emma on their new roles.

#### 56.9 Resolution 7: To note the re-election of Alex Kent as Independent Assessor

The Chair asked the meeting to note the re-appointment and then thanked Alex for staying on for a further term.

# 56.10 Resolution 8: To re-appoint Kingston Smith LLP as Auditors and authorise the Trustees to fix their remuneration

**Proposer** – Ian Blakemore **Seconded** – Helen Mundy **Vote** – Approved unanimously

Chair declared Resolution (8) has been passed

### 56.11 Any other business

DG thanked the three outgoing Trustees;

- Margaret Patterson who had been on the board since 2010 MP had been President during the Institute's 50<sup>th</sup> Jubilee, more recently, Chair Publications
- o Jane-Marie Hawronskyj; Chair of Professional Development
- o Julian Cooper; Chair of Scientific Committee

As it was DG's final meeting as President, DG finished by thanking the Executive and fellow trustees for all their hard work over the past three years. He also thanked the Institute's volunteers, SIG's, Branches and attendees for attending the meeting and for supporting the institute.

The Chair concluded the meeting at 14:31.