

INSTITUTE OF FOOD SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

("the Company" registered number 930776 registered charity number 1121681)

Minutes of the 57th Annual General Meeting of the Company held virtually at 12:00 noon on Tuesday 13 April 2021 via a Zoom meeting due to the pandemic restrictions.

Present

- Helen Munday President (HM) Chair David Gregory - Imm'te Past President (DG) Tom Hollands - Honorary Secretary (TH) Alec Kyriakides - Trustee Richard Frazier - Trustee John O'Brien - Trustee Chris Gilbert-Wood - Trustee Craig Leadley - Trustee Helen R Taylor - Trustee Maureen Edmondson – Independent Assessor **Richard Benson** Ken Spears Alastair MacGregor Rajneesh Shounik Alex Kent Steve Timms Anita Kinsey Patricia Villanueva Anthony Bassey Sue Bell Arianna Ortali Delia Ojinnaka Sophia Haddad
- Sam Jennings Wayne Martindale Richard Ratcliffe Richard Marshall Lindsey Bagley Julian Cooper Mark Woolfe David Rosie Ray Winger Charles Murray Joseph Senyah Allan Shivembe Hazel Gowland Purity Hrisca Milan Havlicek Simon Allison Casiana Villarino Kiu Sum Elisa Carlucci Bukola Onarinde Debra Smith Sarah Kemp

In Attendance

Jon Poole – Chief Executive and Company Secretary Andrew Gardner – IFST Executive Deborah Kendale – IFST Executive Rachel Ward – IFST Executive Natasha Medhurst – IFST Executive Robin Leaper – IFST Executive

57.0 Welcome

HM was delayed in attending the start of the meeting, DG stood in as Chair to commence proceedings. DG welcomed all attending electronically and declared the meeting quorate. DG reminded the meeting that only Members and Fellows were able to vote. DG sought and obtained consent of those present to take as read the Notice convening the AGM. DG Explained to attendees the method for voting using the online poll.

57.1 Apologies for absence

- Eurwen Richards
- Colin Dennis

57.2 Minutes of the 56th meeting, 31 March 2020 (available on the IFST website or on request) and matters arising therefrom.

The minutes of the 56th Annual General Meeting were taken as read having been publicised in the notice of the meeting as available on the IFST website. One correction was required, Charles

Murray had been omitted from the list of attendees. With this amendment, approval was sought by the Chair via the online poll.

Proposer – Julian Cooper Seconder – Anita Kinsey Vote – Approved unanimously

There were no matters arising.

HM joined the meeting and DG passed the chair to HM

57.3 Resolution 1: To receive the Financial Statements of the Company for the period ended 30 September 2020 and the report of the Auditors thereon and to consider the report of the Trustees (available on the IFST website or on request)

These had been publicised in notice of the meeting and available on the IFST website, having been already approved by the Board of Trustees/Directors.

HM explained that Ian Blakemore, Hon Treasurer was unavailable and had asked Sam Jennings (SJ), from the Finance Committee to stand in, in his absence. SJ presented an overview of the accounts, indicating that the Institute had again reported a clean bill of health with unqualified accounts. Despite the COVID-19 pandemic, IFST's finances remain in a strong position.

HM thanked SJ for standing in and Ian Blakemore and the finance committee for their work. HM invited those present to vote to accept the report.

Proposer – Richard Ratcliffe Seconder – Richard Frazier Vote – Approved by a majority (due to one abstention) by the online poll

Chair declared Resolution (1) had been passed

57.4 Resolution 2: To receive the report of the Independent Assessor 2019-20 (available on the IFST website or on request)

The report had been made available in the notice of the meeting on the IFST website. HM thanked the Independent Assessor, Maureen Edmonson (ME) for her report. ME had been appointed on the 1 September 2020. HM also thanked Alex Kent for his time as Independent assessor prior to Maureen's appointment. HM asked if there were any questions on the Independent Assessor's report. There were none. HM asked those present to receive the report.

Proposer – Alex Kent Seconder – David Gregory Vote – Approved by a majority (due to one abstention)

Chair declared Resolution (2) had been passed.

57.5 Resolution 3: To note the election of new Officers:

- Wayne Martindale elected as Honorary Secretary (3-year term)
- Alec Kyriakides elected as Vice President (2 years)
- Ian Blakemore re-elected as Honorary Treasurer for a further year
- Michael Bell re-elected as Vice President for a further year

JP explained Wayne Martindale's election to Honorary Secretary role was unopposed and he will be standing for an initial term of 3 years. Furthermore, the VP role with HR focus had originally been advertised last year but with no nominations. The Board therefore used its powers to make a

casual appointment of Alec Kyriakides. His election this time was unopposed and so this formalises this appointment. IB's re-election as Honorary Treasurer was for a further year and MB's re-election is also for a further term of one tear to enable us to continue our work progressing towards chartership. Neither of these elections were opposed.

HM asked the meeting to note these appointments.

57.6 Resolution 4: To note the appointment of Committee Chairs and Board Trustees:

Alastair MacGregor as Chair Education and Board of Trustees (2-year term)

JP introduced this by explaining that Alastair MacGregor was elected to the role of Vice Chair Education at the 2019 AGM. With Richard Frazier completing his term, Alastair now automatically moves into the Chair role

HM asked the meeting to note this appointment.

57.7 Resolution 5 - To note the election of the following Vice Chair, who shall then normally be appointed Chair and Board Trustee (from AGM 2023 for a further term of 2 years):

• Simon Allison elected as Vice Chair Education (2-year term)

JP explained that this vacancy arises with Alastair Macgregor being automatically elected as Chair. Simon's election was unopposed.

HM asked the meeting to note this appointment.

57.8 Resolution 6: To note the appointment of Maureen Edmondson as Independent Assessor (3-year term)

• Maureen Edmondson as Independent Assessor (3-year term)

JP explained that following Alex Kent having to resign earlier in the summer, Maureen Edmondson was appointed from 1 September. This is now formalised for the three-year term from this AGM.

HM thanked the work of the Nominations Committee in their role supporting all these nominations.

HM asked the meeting to note the appointments

57.9 Resolution 7: To re-appoint Kingston Smith LLP as Auditors and authorise the Trustees to fix their remuneration

Proposer – Alex Kent Seconded – Tom Hollands Vote – Approved unanimously

Chair declared Resolution (8) has been passed

57.11 Any other business

HM thanked the two outgoing Trustees;

- Richard Frazier Served for 3 years as Chair of Education & Careers since March 2018
- Tom Hollands Total of 5 years as Hon Secretary since March 2016

HM also thanked Alex Kent for his 3 years as Independent Assessor since March 2018

HM finished by thanking the Executive and fellow trustees for all their hard work over the last year. She also thanked the Institute's volunteers, SIG's, Branches and attendees for attending the meeting and for supporting the Institute.

The Chair concluded the meeting at 13:00.