

INSTITUTE OF FOOD SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

("the Company" registered number 930776 registered charity number 1121681)

Minutes of the 58th Annual General Meeting of the Company held virtually at 12:00 noon on Thursday 31 March 2022 via a Zoom meeting.

Present

Helen Munday President - (HM) - Chair Maureen Edmondson - Independent

Assessor

Wayne Martindale - Honorary Secretary

John O'Brien- Trustee Alec Kyriakides - Trustee Chris Cilbert Wood, Trustee

Chris Gilbert-Wood - Trustee

Joseph Senya Sterling Crew Kofi Aidoo Sam Jennings Martin Austin

Richard Ratcliffe Andrew Wilbey Lauren Rogers Anita Kinsey Nick Pickles

Karin Goodburn Alex Kent Ken Spears

Deb Smith

David Rosie

Sue Dix

Dinesh Khadka

Ray Winger Hazel Gowland Elie Haddad

Mark Woolfe

Iyabosola Miedzianowska

Rhod Evans Sue Bell

Valia Christidou Lorna Hopkinson Richard Benson Silas Agyei Gyamfi Patricia Ababio Fiona Sutcliffe Allan Shivembe Gerry O'Brien Sarah Kemp Charles Murray Peter Wareing

Purity Hrisca Bola Oloyede

In attendance

Jon Poole Chief - Executive and Company Secretary Andrew Gardner - IFST Executive Delia Mertoiu - IFST Executive Natasha Medhurst - IFST Executive Adaeze Okafor - Student Ben King - Post-Graduate

58.0 Welcome

HM opened the meeting and welcomed all attending electronically and declared the meeting quorate. HM sought and obtained consent of those present to take as read the Notice convening the AGM..HM reminded the meeting that only Institute Professional members (Members/Fellows) may vote and explained the voting method.

58.1 Apologies for absence

Colin Dennis Deborah Kendale Mike King Margaret Patterson Alan Turner Rachel Hackett Ian Blakemore



58.2 Minutes of the Extraordinary General Meeting of the Company held at 1800 on Thursday 9 December 2021

The minutes of the Extraordinary General Meeting were taken as read having been publicised in the notice of the meeting as available on the IFST website. Approval was sought by the Chair via the online poll.

Proposer- Alex Kent **Seconder-** Anita Kinsey

Vote - The minutes were approved by a majority (due to 3 abstentions)

There were no matters arising.

58.3 Minutes of the 57th Annual General Meeting of the Company held virtually at 12:00 noon on Tuesday 13 April 2021 and matters arising therefrom.

The minutes of the 57th Annual General Meeting were taken as read having been publicised in the notice of the meeting as available on the IFST website. Approval was sought by the Chair via the online poll.

Proposer- Dinesh Kadka **Seconder-** Allan Shivembe

Vote - The minutes were approved by a majority (due to one abstention)

58.4 Resolution 1: To receive the Financial Statements of the Company for the period ended 30 September 2021 and the report of the Auditors thereon and to consider the report of the Trustees (available on the IFST website or on request)

HM explained that Ian Blakemore, Hon Treasurer was unavailable and had asked Sam Jennings (SJ), from the Finance Committee to stand in, in his absence. SJ presented an overview of the accounts, indicating that the Institute had again reported a clean bill of health with unqualified accounts. Despite the COVID-19 pandemic, IFST's finances remain in a strong position. HM thanked SJ for standing in and Ian Blakemore and the Finance Committee for their work. HM invited those present to vote to accept the report.

Proposer - Sam Jennings **Seconder -** Richard Ratcliffe

Vote: The resolution was adopted unanimously

The Chair declared Resolution (1) had been passed.

A vote of thanks to Finance Committee was given by Alex Kent

58.5 Resolution 2 To receive the report of the Independent Assessor 2020-2021 (available on the IFST website or on request)

The report had been made available in the notice of the meeting on the IFST website. HM thanked the Independent Assessor, Maureen Edmondson for her report. HM asked if there were any questions regarding the Independent Assessor's report. There were none. HM asked those present to receive the report.

Proposer - Alex Kent Seconder - John O'Brien

Vote - The resolution was adopted unanimously

The Chair declared Resolution (2) had been passed.



58.6 Resolution 3: To note the election of new President Elect:

Sterling Crew elected as new President Elect for one year.

HM explained highlighted that the election this year had been a vibrant one with a good range of candidates and that there had been more members voting since introducing electronic voting.

HM asked the meeting to note this appointment. HM congratulated SC on his appointment.

58.7 Resolution 4: To note the appointment of Trustees:

- Samantha Jennings (SJ) elected as Honorary Treasurer for three years
- Michael Bell re-elected as Vice President for a further year

JP explained that the vacancy of Honorary Treasurer had arisen following Ian Blakemore stepping down from the role. Michael Bell had agreed to stand to see through the Institute's Chartership petition. Both appointments were uncontested.

HM asked the meeting to note these appointments

58.8 Resolution 5: To note the appointment of other Chairs and Board Trustees:

- Emma Weston (EW) as Publications Committee Chair and Trustee (2-year term)
- Anita Kinsey (AK) as Professional Development Committee Chair and Trustee (2-year term)

JP explained that these vacancies had arisen following the Chairs of these positions concluding their terms of office.

HM asked the meeting to note these appointments

58.9 Resolution 6 - To note the election of the following Vice Chairs, who shall then normally be appointed Chairs and Trustees (from AGM 2024 for a further term of 2 years):

- Valia Christidou elected as Publications Committee Vice Chair (2-year term)
- Marcin Paluch elected as Professional Development Committee Vice Chair (2-year term)

JP explained that these vacancies had arisen following the current Vice Chairs being appointed Chairs.

HM asked the meeting to note these appointments

HM recorded a vote of thanks to Nominations Committee for their work in scrutinising the various nominations.

58.10 Resolution 7 - To re-appoint Kingston Smith LLP as Auditors and authorise the Trustees to fix their remuneration.

Approval was sought by the chair.

Proposer - David Rosie
Seconder - Alex Kent
Vote - The resolution was adopted unanimously

The Chair declared Resolution (7) had been passed.



58.11 Any other business.

There was no AOB

HM concluded the formal part of the meeting.

HM thanked outgoing Trustees:

David Gregory – Past President – served for 1 year as Pres Elect, then 3 years as President and then 2 years as Immediate Past President

Craig Leadley – served as Vice Chair and then 2 years as Chair of Publications and Trustee Helen Taylor – served as Vice Chair and then 2 years as Chair of Prof Development Ian Blakemore—Hon Treasurer served 3 years and two subsequent 1-year term – almost six years in total! HM was pleased to hear Ian was still remaining on the Finance Committee

Meeting closed at 12:51

Following the formal part of the meeting HM was pleased to present **Karin Goodburn MBE CSci FIFST**, with IFST Honorary Fellowship.