

IFST AGM 2023

INSTITUTE OF FOOD SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY ("the Company" registered number 930776 registered charity number 1121681)

Minutes of the 59th Annual General Meeting of the Company held virtually at 12:00 noon on Thursday 30 March 2023 via a Zoom meeting.

Present

Helen Munday President (HM) Chair Sterling Crew (SC) President Elect Maureen Edmondson (ME) Independent Assessor Wayne Martindale (WM) Honorary Secretary Alec Kyriakides (AK) Trustee Sam Jennings (SJ) Trustee Anita Kinsey (AK) Trustee

Aisling Aherne
Alex Guest
Allan Shivembe
Andy Kerridge
Ben King
Charles Murray
Chidinma Ochulor
Chris Gilbert Wood
Christine M Morrison

Colin Dennis
Delia Baban
David Rosie
Ifan Thomas
Ivan Bartolo
Isabella Nyambayo
Iyabosola Miedzianowska
John Points

Karen Pardoe

Tomilola Bolaji
Margaret Patterson
Maryam Ibrahim
Matt Gilmour
Michael Bell
Nick Pickles
Oluchi Udeagu
Richard Benson
Richard Marshall
Richard Ratclife
Craig Duckham

Sofia Hardiker Sue Dix Sue Bell Terri Grassby Tracey Dunthorne

Costas Stathopoulos

In attendance

Tim McLachlan Chief Executive and company secretary (TMcL)
Deborah Kendall (DK)
Delia Mertoiu (DM)
Daiane Cazuza (DC)
Natasha Medhurst (NM)

59.0 Welcome

HM opened the meeting. Welcomed all attending electronically and declared the meeting quorate. HM reminded the meeting that only Institute Professional members (Members/Fellows) may vote and explained the voting method.

59.1 Apologies for absence

HM asked TMcL to report on Apologies. The following were received, and proxy voting was noted where it was received.

Ben Dodridge John O'Brien
Alex Kent Peter Salmon
Mike King Herbert Stone
Ray McMahon

59.2 Minutes of the 58TH Annual General Meeting held on 31 March 2022 and matters arising therefrom (available on the IFST website or on request)

The minutes of the 58th Annual General Meeting were taken as read, having been publicised in the notice of the meeting (as available on the IFST website).

Proposer- Anita Kinsey **Seconder-** Richard Marshall

The Minutes were approved unanimously.

59.3 Resolution 1: To receive the Financial Statements of the Company for the period ended 30 September 2022 and the report of the Auditors thereon and to consider the report of the Trustees (available on the IFST website or on request)

HM asked TMcL to present the financial balance on P.21 of the Financial Statements and then asked SJ, Chair of the Finance Committee, to report. SJ presented an overview of the accounts, indicating that the Institute had again reported a clean bill of financial health. Despite the difficulties of post-COVID-19 pandemic, the IFST's finances remain in a strong position. HM thanked SJ and the Finance Committee for their work. HM invited those present to vote to accept the report.

HM asked the meeting to note the financial statement and auditors report.

Vote: The resolution was adopted unanimously.

The Chair declared Resolution (1) had been passed.

59.4 Resolution 2: To receive the report of the Independent Assessor 2021-22 (available on the IFST website or on request)

The report had been made available in the notice of the meeting on the IFST website. HM thanked the Independent Assessor, Maureen Edmondson for her report. HM asked if there were any questions regarding the Independent Assessor's report. There were none. HM asked those present to receive the report.

Proposer – Colin Dennis **Seconder** – Allan Shivembe

Vote - The resolution was adopted unanimously.

The Chair declared Resolution (2) had been passed.

59.5 Resolution 3: Resolution 3: To welcome Sterling Crew as incoming President

HM asked the meeting to note this appointment. HM congratulated SC on his appointment. Vote - The resolution was adopted unanimously.

The Chair declared Resolution (3) had been passed.

59.6 Resolution 4: To note the election or re-election of the following Officers: HM asked TMcL to report the result of the election for Vice President, Membership and Community Engagement. Five nominations were received, and Ben Dodridge (BD) was elected.

HM asked the meeting to note this appointment.

Vote - The resolution was adopted unanimously.

The Chair declared Resolution (4) had been passed.

59.7 Resolution 5: To note the appointment of other Chairs and Board Trustees:

- Chris Gilbert-Wood as External Affairs Committee Chair and Trustee (2-year term)
- John Points as Science Development Committee Chair and Trustee (2-year term)

HM explained that these vacancies had arisen following the Chairs of these positions concluding their terms of office. HM asked the meeting to note these appointments.

59.8 Resolution 6: To note the election of the following Vice Chairs, who shall then normally be appointed Chairs and Trustees (from AGM 2024 for a further term of 2 years):

There were none.

HM asked the meeting to note that the Board of Trustees are developing a combined Education and Professional Development Committee to strengthen existing programmes. The Board of Trustees will be reporting on the development of this new Committee in due course. HM thanked Alastair MacGregor for their service and work in helping to get the committee to this exciting phase of development.

HM recorded a vote of thanks to the Nominations Committee for their work in scrutinising the various nominations.

58.9 Resolution 7: To re-appoint Kingston Smith LLP as Auditors and authorise the Trustees to fix their remuneration.

Approval was sought by the chair.

Proposer – Christine M Morrison **Seconder** – Richard Ratcliffe

Vote – The resolution was adopted unanimously.

The Chair declared Resolution (7) had been passed.

58.10 AOB.

There was no AOB.

HM concluded the formal part of the meeting.

IFST Honorary Fellowship awarded to Jon Poole FIFST, presented by HM at IFST Lecture in 2022.

HM thanked outgoing Trustees:

- John O'Brien- Chair of External Affairs.
- Michael Bell- Vice President, Chartership.

TMcL reported annual highlights of IFST (available on-line or by request) and thanked Jon Poole, Andrew Gardner and all our IFST volunteers.

HM said it had been a privilege to serve as president and thanked all IFST volunteers, the IFST executive and attendees of the meeting,

Meeting closed at 13:00.