We run a number of Committees. They are made up of volunteers, members of the Executive Team and a Board member. Our Committees oversee activities relating to their particular area and feedback to the Board. The Forums help develop policy, take work forward, and inform the debate. 

Education Committee
Chair: Alastair MacGregor

The Education and Careers Forum oversees the Institute's activities and policies relating to education, careers and skills at all levels.

Chair: Alastair MacGregor

Vice-Chair: Simon Allison

Finance Committee
Chair: Ian Blakemore

The Finance Committee advises the Board on financial matters. It is chaired by the Honorary Treasurer.

Chair: Ian Blakemore

Committee Members: Michael King, Richard Burt, Andrew Wilbey, Sam Jennings, Ruth Birt, Vanessa Fursden

Professional Development Committee
Chair: Helen Taylor

The Professional Development Forum oversees all of the Institute's initiatives, assessment and accreditation relating to professional standards and levels of membership, continuing professional development activities, member assessment, and examinations.

Chair: Helen Taylor

Vice-Chair: Anita Kinsey

Publications Committee
Chair: Craig Leadley

The Publications Committee oversees the Institute's publications including the International Journal of Food Science and Technology and Food Science and Technology.

Chair: Craig Leadley

Vice-Chair: Emma Weston

Committee Members: Helen Munday, Dr Melanie Brown, Sterling Crew, Derek Croucher, Jon Poole, Deborah Kendale, Mariam Zaki

Scientific Committee
Chair: Chris Gilbert-Wood

The Scientific Committee is the Institute's key source of information concerning scientific, technical and legislative affairs. They produce material on scientific and technical issues on behalf of IFST, advise the Board on emerging scientific and technical issues, and ensure that IFST are producing reliable, authoritative information on food science topics.

Chair: Chris Gilbert-Wood 

Committee Members: Julie Ashmore, Ivan Bartolo, Sue Bell, Julian CooperChris Ellyatt, Mike Gilligan, Hazel Gowland, Kathy Groves, Alexis Guest, Elie Haddad, Sarah Howarth, Louise Manning, Robert Murdock, Stuart Musgrove, John Points, Shane Rawlings, Henrietta Sameke, Matthew Sharman, Mark Shippey, Michael Spurr, Sue Swinbourne, Michael Walker, Peter Wareing, Rachel Ward, Alisdair Wotherspoon.


External Affairs Committee
Chair: John O’Brien

The External Affairs Committee is the Institute's primary group providing guidance to the board and executive concerning its external engagement and policy setting. It identifies and prioritises areas where IFST can positively engage externally and helps to formulate key policy messages and positions IFST wishes to make. The Committee also advises the Board on appropriate measures of effectiveness and impact of the Institute in relation to its stakeholder relationships.

Chair: John O’Brien

Committee Members:  Susan Arkley, Michael Bell, Andrea Cattaruzza, Craig Duckham, Helen Ferrier, Chris Gilbert-Wood, Helen Munday, Michael Walker, Alisdair Wotherspoon.

Nominations Committee
Chair: Wayne Martindale

The Nominations Committee oversees the election and appointment of Board Trustees. It is chaired by the Hon Secretary and comprises the immediate Past President (whether serving on the Board or not), the Chief Executive and two ‘ordinary’ professional members.

Chair: Wayne Martindale (Hon Secretary)

Committee Members:  David Gregory, Jon Poole, Julie Ryan, Derek Croucher